Götsch & Dewalle win the race and title

Philip Götsch and Christel Dewalle won the race, setting a new record on the back-up course of the Brescian event, and winning the vertical specialty of the world cup.   Patrik Facchini  and Francesca Rossi took first place in the ranking of the Italian series.

The heavy rain did not ruin the celebration of the Skyrunners who competed on the mountain peaks between the Lombardy and Trentino regions in the vertical specialty of the Skyrunner® World Series final. For safety regions, the Race Manager Fabio Meraldi assisted by the Alpine Emergency team of the Guardia di Finanza, Edolo Station, did not want the 289 athletes to take useless risks. In the late afternoon today they met under the Dynafit starting line arch on the striking Lungolago Marconi boulevard in Limone sul Garda. Many raised the white flag and did not feel up to facing the bad weather. The other 180 heroes turned on their headlamps and cut through the darkness on the 6 km course with a 1,200 meter ascent that took them straight to the finish line.

Given the starting list of international caliber, it race was up for grabs until the end. Philip Götsch, the star of Bogn Da Nia, set a new record for the course (-32" against the 2015 time of Remì Bonnet). With a finish time of 43’19”, he was just one second ahead of Stian Angermund, the Norwegian of Team Salomon (clocking in at 43'20").  Completing the podium of the day was Patrik Faccini from Trentino and Team La Sportiva (-43'47"). The top ten also included Marco Moletto, Rullan Estarelles, Petter Engdahl, Jan Margarit, Hannes Peckman, Jonathan Wyatt and Emanuele Manzi.

 The women's race also set records with Christel Dewalle, the champion of Team Adidas, who bettered her time by 48" compared to 2015, winning with a time of 49'59" against Valentina Belotti of Team La Sportiva (clocking in at 53'15") and Hilde Aders of Mizuno (54'50"). Completing the top ten were Lina El Kott, Sanna El Kott, Maria Zorozza, Antonella Confortola, Beatrice Deflorian, Karmen Klancnik and Serena Vittori.

In the cup ranking, Jan Margarit took second and Ferran Teixido took third. The silver medal in the women's category went to Laura Orguè and the bronze went to Maria Zorrozza.